Irish Composers on Irish Music: Martin O'Leary on Irish Piano Music

Martin O'Leary


Over the last year, composer and pianist Martin O'Leary has been touring a programme of all Irish music around Ireland and the world. In this interview, he examines how the different composers have approached writing for the instrument. Works featured include:

James Wilson, 5 Preludes (1982)

John Buckley, 3 Lullabies for Deirdre (1989)

Peter Moran, Transcript 4 (2012)

Paul Hayes, Hammerstrung No.5 (1994)

Martin O'Leary, Caoineadh Malachy McGeeny (2015)

Jonathan Nangle, grow quiet gradually (2008)

Kevin O'Connell, Aria 1: Berceuse, from 'Measures and Inventions' (2015)

Ryan Molloy, For Morton O'Leary (2016)

Paul Hayes, The Agony of Trance of the Red Piano in Old Cambodia (2015-16)